Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Higher Education Links
Share |
The purpose of the Higher Education section of our website is to provide information about GIS postsecondary GIS institutions in Minnesota, plus adjacent institutions.


University/College GIS Contacts
This contact list represents a statewide GIS contact list of people at various educational institutions (community colleges, universities, etc.) who are willing to share and distribute information from agencies and organizations regarding student internships and job opportunities.

Bemidji State University
Jeff Ueland, Assistant Professor
jueland@bemidjistate.edu
BA Geography, BS Geography (GIS emphasis), GIS minor
Bemidji State University Department of Geography: http://www.bemidjistate.edu/academics/departments/geography/ 
Bemidji State University: http://www.bemidjistate.edu/ 

Carleton College
Wei-Hsin Fu, GIS Specialist and Adjunct Instructor
wfu@carleton.edu
Carleton College Spatial Analysis: http://apps.carleton.edu/collab/spatial_analysis/
Carleton College: http://www.carleton.edu/ 

Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College
Elizabeth Jones, Geospatial Technologies Program Coordinator/Geography Faculty
ejones@fdltcc.edu
AAS and Certificate in Geospatial Technologies
Fond du Lac Geospatial Degree Programs: http://fdltcc.edu/academics/degree-and-certificate-programs/degree-programs/geospatial-technologies/
Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College: http://www.fdltcc.edu/ 

Gustavus Adolphus College
Judy Helmeke, Administrative Assistant
jhelmek2@gac.edu
Dr. Jeff La Frenierre
jlafreni@gustavus.edu
BA Geography (with Honors option and concentration in GIS option), GIS minor
Gustavus Adolphus College Geography Department: https://gustavus.edu/geography/
Gustavus Adolphus College: https://gustavus.edu/

Itasca Community College
Timothy Fox, GIS Program Coordinator
Timothy.Fox@itascacc.edu
GIS Certificate, AS Geography/GIS, AAS Natural Resources/Geospatial Emphasis
Itasca Community College Geography & GIS: http://www.itascacc.edu/academics/area-of-study/gis/
Itasca Community College: http://www.itascacc.edu/ 

Macalester College
Holly Barcus, Professor
barcus@macalester.edu
Ashley Nepp, Lab Instructor
anepp@macalester.eduBA
Geography (with Honors option), GIS minor
Macalester College Geography Department: http://www.macalester.edu/academics/geography/ 
Macalester College: http://www.macalester.edu/

Minnesota State University, Mankato
Rama Mohapatra, Associate Professor
rama.mohapatra@mnsu.edu
Woo Jang, Associate Professor
woo-suk.jang@mnsu.edu
Fei Yuan, Professor
fei.yuan@mnsu.edu
Marty Mitchell, Professor
martin.mitchell@mnsu.edu
BA / BS Geography, BA / BS Professional Geography
MS Geography
Professional Science Master's in Geographic Information Science
GIS Certificate (Undergraduate and Graduate)
Geography Department: http://sbs.mnsu.edu/geography/
Minnesota State University, Mankato: http://www.mnsu.edu/  

Minnesota State University, Moorhead
Rinita Dalan, Professor and Chair
dalanri@mnstate.edu
Paul Sando, Associate Professor
psando@mnstate.edu
Kirk Stueve, Assistant Professor
kirk.stueve@mnstate.edu
BS Geosciences, BS Geosciences (Emphasis in Geographical Sciences), Minor in Geosciences, Certificate in
Geographic Information Science
Minnesota State University Moorhead Department of Anthropology and Earth Science: http://www.mnstate.edu/anthearth/
Minnesota State University Moorhead:  http://www.mnstate.edu/

St. Cloud State University
Benjamin F. Richason III, PhD, Professor
bfrichason@stcloudstate.edu
Jeffrey S. Torguson, PhD, Professor
jstorguson@stcloudstate.edu
David L. Wall, PhD, Professor and Chair
dlwall@stcloudstate.edu
BA Geography, B.E.S. Geography, BA GIS Minor, BS Land Surveying/Mapping Science
MS Geography: Geographic Information Systems Science concentration
(Graduate) Certificate in Geography Information Science
Department of Geography and Planning:  http://www.stcloudstate.edu/gp/
University Website:    www.stcloudstate.edu

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota
John Ebert, Program Director 
jebert@smumn.edu
Greta Poser, Instructor
gcbern07@smumn.edu
MS Geographic Information Science, GIS Certificate
Department of Resource Analysis: http://www.gis.smumn.edu/ 
Saint Mary’s University of Minnesota GIS: http://www.smumn.edu/gis

South Central Community College
Katie Hueper, GIS/Geography Instructor
Katie.hueper@southcentral.edu
507-389-7374
Jay Stencel
jay.stencel@southcentral.edu
GIS Certificate
South Central Community College GIS: http://ecatalog.southcentral.edu/CERT3481.php
South Central Community College: http://www.southcentral.edu

Southwest Minnesota State University
Charles Kost, GIS Center Director
kostc@southwestmsu.edu
Geography minor, GIS courses under Environmental Science and Rural and Regional Studies programs
Southwest Minnesota State University GIS
Center: http://www.smsu.edu/campuslife/geographicinformationsystems/ 
Southwest Minnesota State University: http://www.smsu.edu/ 

University of Minnesota
Len Kne, Associate Director, U-Spatial
lenkne@umn.edu
Susanna McMaster, Co-Director, MGIS
mcmas002@umn.edu
BA Geography (GIS track), BS Geography (GIS track), GIS minor, MGIS, MA Geography (GIS specialization), MS
Natural Resources Sciences and Management (GIS specialization), GIS graduate minor
University of Minnesota Geography Department: http://www.geog.umn.edu/
University of Minnesota: http://www1.umn.edu/twincities/index.html 

University of Minnesota Duluth
Stacey Stark, Director Geospatial Analysis Center
slstark@d.umn.edu
Laure Charleux, Director GIS Program
lcharleu@d.umn.edu
BA Geography, BA GIS, GIS minor, GIS certificate
UMD Department of Geography, Urban , Environment and Sustainability Studies: https://cla.d.umn.edu/departments/guess
University of Minnesota Duluth: http://www.d.umn.edu/ 

University of North Dakota
Dr. Enru Wang, Associate Professor and Graduate GISc Certificate Director
Enru.Wang@und.edu
Dr. Gregory Vandeberg, Associate Professor, Graduate Director
gregory.vandeberg@und.edu 
Dr. Douglas Munski, Professor, Interim Graduate Director
douglas.munski@und.edu
BS Geography, MA Geography, MS Geography, GIS graduate certificate
University of North Dakota Geography Department: http://arts-sciences.und.edu/geography/ 
University of North Dakota: http://und.edu/ 

University of St. Thomas
Dr. David Kelley, Chair
dwkelley@stthomas.edu
Dr. Paul Lorah, Associate Professor
palorah@stthomas.edu
BA Geography, BA Geography (GIS concentration), Geography minor, GIS minor
University of St. Thomas Department of Geography and Environmental Studies http://www.stthomas.edu/geography/
University of St. Thomas  http://www.stthomas.edu/

University of Wisconsin – River Falls
Dr. Charles Rader, Professor and Chair
charles.p.rader@uwrf.edu
Dr. Mathew Dooley, Professor
mathew.dooley@uwrf.edu
BS Geography, BAS in Geographic Information Science, GIS minor, and GIS Certificate
University of Wisconsin – River Falls Geography and Geographic Information Science: http://www.uwrf.edu/GEOG/ 
University of Wisconsin – River Falls: http://www.uwrf.edu/index.cfm 

 

 

 

more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Featured Members

Online Surveys
 
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal