FALL 2006

The Newsletter of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium

Table of Contents

MN GIS/LIS Consortium
2006 Conference
From the Chair
Lifetime Award
Polaris Awards
Scholarship Winners
Scholarship Competition
Scholarship Fundraising
North Workshop
South Workshop

Air Photo, Elevation Inventory
LIDAR Update
50 States Grant
NorthStar Mapper
HydroClim Minnesota

Governor's Council
Annual Report
FY07 Appointments
Governor's Commendations
Grand Rapids Presentations

Forum Results

Olmsted Uses Air Photos
FGDC Funds Web Mapping

Pine County LIDAR, Soils
Soil Data Viewer Update
2007 CAP Grants
USGS Reorganization

Higher Education
Evacuation Management Tool
Land Change Research
St. Mary's Update

K-12 Education
GEOFEST, Training

Mapping Child Care

Other Places
Dynamic Earth Map



Governor’s Council Welcomes New Members


Minnesota Department of Administration Commissioner Dana Badgerow has appointed four new members to the Minnesota Governor’s Council on Geographic Information for Fiscal Year 2007. She has also reappointed 14 current members and has requested that Rick Gelbmann continue as the council’s chair.


Council members will be working together on issues related to the continued development and coordination of geographic information technology across Minnesota. Members represent a broad range of GIS professionals including state, county and local government, academia, nonprofits and the private sector.


More information is available about the council and its members at its website:


New council members:

  • David Berrisford, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Jeff Bloomquist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Farm Service Agency
  • Jeff Grussing, United Services Group / Great River Energy
  • Sally Wakefield, 1000 Friends of Minnesota


Returning council members:

  • Gordon Chinander, Metropolitan Emergency Services Board
  • Will Craig, University of Minnesota
  • Mike Dolbow, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Rick Gelbmann, Metropolitan Council (chair)
  • Charles Kost, Southwest Minnesota State University
  • Jonette Kreideweis, Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Stuart Lien, Clearwater County
  • Robert Maki, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Tim Ogg, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
  • Mark Olsen, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County
  • Ken Saffert, City of Mankato
  • Mark Sloan, Clay County
  • Bill Swing, Wright County


In addition, five organizations hold ex-officio seats on the council. Those members are:

  • David Arbeit, Land Management Information Center
  • Chad Martini, Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium
  • Lee Meilleur, Minnesota Legislative Coordinating Commission
  • Michael Ryan, Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology
  • Ron Wencl, United States Geological Survey