Fall 2008

The Newsletter of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium

Table of Contents

MN GIS/LIS Consortium

2008 Conference
From the Chair

Intro to Scholarship Winners
Polaris Winners

Drive to Excellence
More Photos Online

Governor's Council
FY09 Appointments
Annual Report
Commendation Winners
Rochester Meeting

MetroGIS Geocoder

Hugo Tornado Response
New Brighton Housing

Higher Education
Chimp Behavior

Rep. Walz Honored
In Memorium: Phil Kelley

Other Places
NSGIC Addressing White Paper
Online Addressing Seminar
GIS Associations Unite



Governor’s Council Welcomes New Members for 2009

Minnesota Department of Administration Commissioner Dana Badgerow has appointed seven new members to the Minnesota Governor’s Council on Geographic Information for Fiscal Year 2009. She has also reappointed 11 current members and has requested that Rick Gelbmann continue as the council’s chair.

Council members will be working together on issues related to the continued development and coordination of geographic information technology across Minnesota. Members represent a broad range of GIS professionals including state, county and local government, academia, nonprofits and the private sector.

More information is available about the council and its members at its website:

New council members:

  • David Brandt, Washington County
  • Curtis Carlson, Regional MLS of Minnesota, Inc.
  • Joshua Gumm, Scott County
  • Tim Loesch, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Tom Mathisen, City of Crystal
  • Richard Morey, Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Brenda Zachman, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Farm Service Agency

Returning council members:

  • Will Craig, University of Minnesota
  • Mike Dolbow, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Kris Eide, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Rick Gelbmann, Metropolitan Council
  • Jeff Grussing, United Services Group / Great River Energy
  • Tim Ogg, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
  • Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County
  • Tad Schindler, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Mark Sloan, Clay County
  • Gerry Sjerven, Natural Resources Research Institute
  • Sally Wakefield, 1000 Friends of Minnesota

Ex-officio members:
In addition, five organizations hold ex-officio seats on the council. Those members are:

  • David Arbeit, Land Management Information Center
  • Rebecca Foster, Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium
  • Lee Meilleur, Minnesota Legislative Coordinating Commission
  • Eileen Quam, Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology
  • Ron Wencl, United States Geological Survey