Spring 2009

The Newsletter of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium

Table of Contents

MN GIS/LIS Consortium

From the Chair
Conference Planning
Volunteer Opportunities
Scholarship Winners

Drive to Excellence Update
USNG in Minnesota
Mn/DOT GIS Portal
LCC-GIS and Redistricting

Governor's Council
CTU and USNG standards out for review
Next Generation 9-1-1

Services Forum Results
Address Point Synchronization

Tracking Utility Trucks
Watershed E. coli Study

Mapping Floods
Improvng Flood Maps
Height Modernization

URISA Skills Survey
MHS Map Exhibit

Randy Johnson, ESRI GIS Hero

Other Places
Web 2.0 for Local Government
Economics and Place



Scholarship Competition Winners, 2008
By Chad Martini, Scholarship Chair
Each year, the GIS/LIS Board of Directors distributes scholarships to deserving students in GIS programs across Minnesota. The scholarship committee, working on behalf of the board of directors and all of you as members, gave $4000 to a great group of students in Rochester during the annual conference.
The quality of the student presentations was exceptional and each student should be very proud of their individual performance. Based on the presentations in Rochester, the future of GIS in Minnesota is in great hands. For the student competition this year, there were three categories of competitors: Graduate, Undergraduate, and Community College.
2008 Scholarship Competition winners:
1st Prize $1000  Len Kne – University of Minnesota
2nd Prize $500  Jenelle Taylor Hudok – St. Mary's University
                $200  Margarette Elliot – Minnesota State University, Mankato
1st Prize $800   Jeremy Moore – University of Minnesota
2nd Prize $400   Brett Fleck – Minnesota State University, Mankato
                 $200   Victoria Harris – Macalester College
                 $200   Allison Seiwert – University of St. Thomas
Community College
1st Prize $500 Deborah Richards - Fond du Lac Tribal & Community 
                  $200 Erin McClenahan - Itasca Community College
Check the Consortium’s website for more information about the students and their presentations. To follow up with any of the GIS/LIS scholarship winners regarding their projects, please contact Chad Martini at
Other Recognized Students:  We would also like to recognize the following students who were identified by their respective institutions for outstanding work in GIS but were unable to compete in Rochester.
  • Brock Anderson           Bemidji State University
  • Kushal Gurung             St. Cloud State University
  • Rebecca Haass           Anoka Ramsey Community College
  • Alek Halverson             St. Cloud State University
  • Nicholas Salo               University of Minnesota, Duluth
Committee: Because the GIS/LIS Consortium is a volunteer organization, a special thanks to the Scholarship Committee for all the hours spent contacting students, gathering materials, and working with the Conference Committee to facilitate the competition. The Scholarship Committee includes Banette Kritzky, Will Craig, Martin Mitchell, Ben Richason, and Chad Martini. Please remember that anyone can volunteer to serve on the scholarship committee. If you are interested, please contact Chad Martini at
Judges: We are also grateful to the people who volunteered to judge the competition this year. There was a balanced mix of judges from academic institutions, the private sector, and public sector who dedicated time to review student papers, posters, and participate in student sessions at the conference:
  • Brad Digre, SEH
  • Will Craig, University of Minnesota
  • Jim Gonsoski, Department of Agriculture
  • Doug Hansen, Crow Wing County
  • David Kelley, University of St. Thomas
  • Martin Mitchell, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Drew Moore, Great Clips
  • Mark Packard, ddMS
  • Ben Richason, St. Cloud State University
  • Stacey Stark, University of Minnesota, Duluth