Winter 2010

The Newsletter of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium

Table of Contents

MN GIS/LIS Consortium

From the Chair
Conference Wrap-up 
Scholarship Winners
Scholarship Drawing
Polaris Awards
Lifetime Award

MnGeo Update
Stimulus Funding Map
Chronic Wasting Monitoring

Elevation Info

Governor's Council
Commendation to Goodhue Co.

Base Map Services
Socioeconomic Data

LiDAR Use in Winona Co.
Rice Co. Pictometry
Prairie Island Natural Resources
Fillmore Co. GIS
Prior Lake / Scott Co. Collaboration

Historic SPOT Online

K-12 Education
GeoMentor Project

Will Craig: URISA Hall of Fame



2009 Scholarship Competition Winners
By Chad Martini, Scholarship Committee chair
Each year, the GIS/LIS Board of Directors distributes scholarships to deserving students in GIS programs across Minnesota. The scholarship committee, working on behalf of the Board and all of you as members, awarded $4600 to a great group of students in Duluth during the annual conference.
The quality of the student presentations was exceptional and each student should be very proud of their individual performance. There were three categories of competitors: Graduate, Undergraduate, and Community College, and the winners are:
1st Prize      $1000 Jake Galzki – University of Minnesota
2nd Prize     $500   Brian Lorenz – St. Cloud State University
                    $200   Jared Rahn – Minnesota State University, Mankato
                    $200   Andrew Schmidt – St. Mary’s University
1st Prize      $800   Brandon Keinath – University of Minnesota - Duluth
2nd Prize     $400   Nicholas Entinger – University of Minnesota
                    $200   Leticia Blauert – Bemidji State University
                    $200   Renee Huset – University of St. Thomas
                    $200   Stephanie Kleinschmidt – Macalester College
                    $200   Michael Mrosla – Minnesota State University, Mankato
Community College
1st Prize       $500 Liz Harmon – Itasca Community College
                     $200 Lisa Curtis – Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College
You can find more information about the students and their presentations by using the following web links.

I would also like to recognize the following student who was identified by his institution for outstanding work in GIS, but was unable to compete in Duluth.
Scott Kraushaar        St. Cloud State University
Because the GIS/LIS Consortium is a volunteer organization, a special thanks to the Scholarship Committee for all the hours spent contacting students, gathering materials, and working with the Conference Committee to facilitate the competition. The Scholarship Committee includes Carla Coates, Will Craig, Martin Mitchell, Ben Richason, Stacey Stark, and Chad Martini. Anyone can volunteer to serve on the committee;if you are interested, please contact the 2010 Board Chair Steve Benson at
We are also grateful to the people who volunteered to judge the competition this year. There was a balanced mix of judges from academic institutions, the private sector, and public sector who dedicated time to review student papers and posters, and to participate in student sessions at the conference:
·        Will Craig, University of Minnesota
·        Steve Graham, University of Minnesota - Duluth
·        Doug Hansen, Crow Wing County
·        George Host, University of Minnesota - Duluth
·        David Kelley, University of St. Thomas
·        Brad Neuhauser, MN Secretary of State Office
·        Ben Richason, St. Cloud State University
·        Terese Rowekamp, Rowekamp Associates
·        Alison Slaats, 1000 Friends of Minnesota
If anyone would like to follow up with any of the GIS/LIS scholarship winners regarding their projects, please contact Chad Martini at