Fall 2007

The Newsletter of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium

Table of Contents

MN GIS/LIS Consortium

2007 Conference
Silent Auction
From the Chair
Polaris Awards
Student Scholarship Competition
Our 50th Issue

LMIC Budget Restored
Parcel Inventory Updated
Monument Coordinates in Feet

Governor's Council
New Members
Annual Report
Regional Collaboration Panel

Met Council Map Site
MetroGIS Address Dataset

New Funding for Land Data
GeoMoose Web Mapping
Hennepin Co. Mobile Assessor Tool
Remote Aircraft Photography
Clay Co. Addresses

USGS Maps in GeoPDF
Free Landsat Images
TerraLook Free Imagery
NOAA Satellites
USGS Resources for Teachers

Higher Education
St. Mary's Update

K-12 Education
Geography, History Online

ESRI Map Help

Google Earth Pro Grants

Other Places
Bring Back Geography!
New Parcel Study
MAPPS Loses Lawsuit


Governor’s Council Welcomes New Members


Minnesota Department of Administration Commissioner Dana Badgerow has appointed three new members to the Minnesota Governor’s Council on Geographic Information for Fiscal Year 2008. She has also reappointed 15 current members and has requested that Rick Gelbmann continue as the council’s chair.


Council members will be working together on issues related to the continued development and coordination of geographic information technology across Minnesota. Members represent a broad range of GIS professionals including state, county and local government, academia, nonprofits and the private sector.


More information is available about the council and its members at its website:


New council members:

  • Kris Eide, Minnesota Department of Public Safety
  • Tad Schindler, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency
  • Gerry Sjerven, Natural Resources Research Institute


Returning council members:

  • Jeff Bloomquist, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Farm Service Agency
  • Gordon Chinander, Metropolitan Emergency Services Board
  • Will Craig, University of Minnesota
  • Mike Dolbow, Minnesota Department of Agriculture
  • Rick Gelbmann, Metropolitan Council (chair)
  • Jeff Grussing, United Services Group / Great River Energy
  • Jonette Kreideweis, Minnesota Department of Transportation
  • Stuart Lien, Clearwater County
  • Shannon Flynn, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources
  • Tim Ogg, Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
  • Victoria Reinhardt, Ramsey County
  • Ken Saffert, City of Mankato
  • Mark Sloan, Clay County
  • Bill Swing, Wright County
  • Sally Wakefield, 1000 Friends of Minnesota


Ex-officio members:

In addition, five organizations hold ex-officio seats on the council. Those members are:

  • David Arbeit, Land Management Information Center
  • Lee Meilleur, Minnesota Legislative Coordinating Commission
  • Eileen Quam, Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology
  • Sally Wakefield, Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium
  • Ron Wencl, United States Geological Survey