Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
MN GIS/LIS Lifetime Achievement Award Winner - The Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources
Share |
MN GIS/LIS Lifetime Achievement Award Winner

The Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources (1994)

If you attended Minnesota Day at the national GIS/LIS Convention in Minneapolis last year (1993), you may have heard a morning presentation by Dr. John Borchert. He recounted the early history of GIS/LIS in Minnesota dating from the 1960's. One influential group that was continually mention was a group now called the Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources (LCMR).

Since its creation in 1963 as the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Resources Commission, LCMR has been a major supporter of land information. Initially, the Commission funded studies which showed the needed for a host of resource inventory and development needs. Over the decades, funding was recommended by the Commission to complete most of those priorities. The commission was an early leader in funding statewide programs in mapping, aerial photography, resource inventories and the then new field of storing natural resource data in computer files for mapping and analysis. It's hard to find an early GIS project in Minnesota that doesn't show LCMR's support.

More recently, LCMR has fostered GIS/LIS data and system integration through outside review of LCMR proposals. The Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium has been proud and honored to be part of that process. Such actions by the Commission has resulted in more accessible and compatible geographic data sets for all Minnesotans.

Therefore, by action of the Board of the Minnesota GIS/LIS Consortium, they wish to express their appreciation for the support received from LCMR by the user community. We would like to present LCMR was a plaque which reads: Minnesota GIS/LIS Honor Roll Lifetime Achievement Award 1994, Legislative Commission on Minnesota Resources In Appreciation of 30 Years of Support for Geographic and Land Information Systems. The Award was excepted by the Commission's Executive Director, John R. Velin for the Commission's Chair, State Representative Phyllis Kahn.
more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal